WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly post hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just post the answers to the following three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
I haven’t been able to convince myself to get back in to Ancillary Sword like I planned to–I’m just not really in the mood for sci-fi, I think—so I checked out the ebook for Difficult Women by Roxanne Gay from the library. I was looking for a short story collection, and I read Gay’s Not That Bad earlier this year and found it poignant, if difficult to get through, so I wanted to check out more of her work. At about 40% through I’m finding it a slow read, something I’m tackling in short bursts, not because her writing is slow, but more because the subject matter is just as difficult as Not That Bad. There’s understandably a lot of anger and frustration present in Gay’s writing and her work is both important while being hard to read sometimes.

What did you recently finish reading?
Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer) and Fiona Staples (Artist), which I received as a secret santa present during a gift exchange I hosted earlier this month. It’s that sort of fantasy sci-fi blend that I like so much, with ghosts and spaceships and a touch of magic. At times vulgar and other times sweet, I’m pretty invested in the story and characters at this point, so the next volumes have found their way onto my Want to Read list. I’m really partial to Staples’ artwork–clean, clear, full of bright colors and intriguing character designs. The narrative framing, too, works really well for me, with the knowledge that things will work out well enough for the baby in the end taking at least some of the anxiety out of it for me. This helps keep me interested, because now its about the journey more than the destination, and I like that approach.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Last week, I said Circe by Madeline Miller, then the holidays happened and I got just a boatload of new books (you’ll see tomorrow in my holiday book haul). I’m thinking now it’ll be Vicious by V.E. Schwab, but I’ll probably take that, The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert, and The Mortal Word by Genevieve Cogman, read the first few pages of each, and see which one wins out over the other for my attention.

Feel free to link me to your own WWW Wednesday posts so I can check out all the good stuff everyone’s reading!

Leave a comment